50/50 campaign needs to extend to Nobel Prizes!

Date: November 22, 2011
  • SHARE:

The awarding of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize on October 7 to three women, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (President of Liberia), Leymah Gbowee (founder of Women in Peacebuilding Programme, Liberia) and Tawakkul Karman (journalist and peace activist, Yemen) exemplifies the role that women play in peace processes. But they are a rare exception.

Nobel Prizes have been in existence since 1901. They are awarded in the following categories: physics; chemistry; medicine; peace, literature and economic sciences. In total, the prizes have been awarded 549 times to 853 people and organisations. Some have received the prize more than once. Thus a total of 826 individuals and 20 organisations have received the prize.

Click here to read full article

Source: Gender Links Opinion and Commentary Service

Comment on 50/50 campaign needs to extend to Nobel Prizes!

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *