Matobo Rural District Council COE

Date: October 7, 2018
  • SHARE:

Fact file
Country Zimbabwe
Province/Region Matebeleland  South
Baseline score  27
Post-2015 score
Population  93,940
Number of women councillors  4
Number of men councillors  20
Joined the COE programme  2018
Anchored Entrepreneurship Programme  No

Matobo Rural District Council is a local authority in Matabeleland South Province. The council was formed in 1993, after the amalgamation of South Matobo Rural Council and Matobo District Council in accordance with Rural District Councils’ Act [Chapter29:13]. The District is 7,220 km 2 area and it is bounded to the east by Gwanda, west by Bulilima and Mangwe, North by Bulawayo City Council, North East by Umzingawane district, Umguza to the North West and Botswana to the South. It has nineteen communal wards, one grazing and five resettlement wards. The district lies in the ecological regions four and five (IV & V). Northern Matobo consists of hills which gave birth to the name Matobo. It is part of the world heritage site with its scenic sites incorporating Cecil John Rhodes Grave, Old Bulawayo, Njelele Shrine; San rock paintings, the national park, and wildlife and dam sanctuaries.

The council is a spoke council in the hub and spoke programme for gender mainstreaming in local government. It is mentored by Umguza RDC.

 Empowering women, ending violence in Zimbabwe

 Click here to review COE Report card

2 thoughts on “Matobo Rural District Council COE”

Betwell says:

I need a list of ward names if you especially ward 5 and 20


Ward its Beula and ward 20 has no name

Comment on Matobo Rural District Council COE

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *